OUR FAQ: YOUR TOP QUESTIONS ANSWERED BELOW…
Patients, caretakers and parents call us all the time to ask about medical marijuana and Florida’s medical marijuana program. Check out our FAQ below to learn the basics – then call us about how medical marijuana can help you live a healthier and happier life.
Is medical marijuana legal?
YES! With an overwhelming Grassroots effort, Amendment 2 passed with over 70% support on the ballot November 2016 and went into effect October 2017! The people made it happen…it’s a “grassroots medicine movement”!
Although Medical Marijuana is legal in Florida, it is still illegal under Federal law.
You receive a “certification” which is the equivalent of a “recommendation” in other states.
I have a card in another state. Do I still need one from Florida?
Yes. But, that card can be used as proof of being evaluated by another doctor for a qualifying medical condition.
Will I be arrested for using medical marijuana?
We doubt that Jeff Sessions will be knocking down your door. But if he does, take a pic and share it with us!
My job drug tests. What do I need to tell my employers?
Your medical marijuana identification card should serve as proof that any positive tests are as a result of a doctor recommended treatment protocol. But, we recommend checking with your HR department to ensure they don’t have any specific provisions. We like our patients to be safe rather than sorry.
Are there any costs involved to receive my medical marijuana card?
Our initial certification packages range from $5000 to as low as $400 depending on the level of service you want.
Our consultation fee is $75 which is included in your certification
The state charges a $75 application fee (which is included in our most popular purple package!)
The cost of the medicine itself varies depending on type, amount and dispensary.
Good news, no sales tax!
Do you take insurance?
No. But, we will work with you to provide an out of network claim for reimbursement.
Can I purchase medical marijuana from you?
No. Prescribers prescribe. Dispensers dispense. We’re prescribers. We do however have a line of organic CBD products (Zero THC) that you can purchase at our office.
How much medicine can I purchase?
We fully dose our patients for a full 70 days (unlike the others whom we shall not mention by name). If for some reason you were under-dosed, we will work with you to adjust your dosing and find the appropriate treatment regimen for your specific needs
After 70 days, you must be reevaluated in order to receive a new “prescription”. There is a small doctors fee for this service (we know…but our doctors need to make a living too, and they’re great people! ☺)
You must be re-evaluated by our office at least once every 30 weeks (210 days) before we can issue a new certification.
Good news again…no sales tax!
Can I smoke with my medical marijuana license?
Yes, but not in the way you think. The current law does not allow for consumption of your medicine in its botanical form. You can vape it, eat it, rub it on, pop it in, but no…you cannot grow it yourself or roll it up / crush it in something and smoke it.
There has recently been a ruling that has elimanted the ban on smoking flower, but the ramifications of that have yet to be hashed out.
Good news, if you are a purist- you can smoke flower in a sealed container/device for vaping.
What is the difference between medical marijuana and low THC marijuana?
Low –THC contains less than 1% of THC, meaning it has almost little to no psychoactive properties. If you are pregnant, you can only be prescribed low THC medical marijuana.
Can a minor enroll in the Florida Medical Marijuana Program?
Yes. There must be consent of the parent or legal guardian, and another physician must evaluate and provide documentation of the patient’s medical condition.
How long is my medical marijuana card is valid for?
Your medical Marijuana card is valid for one year. Applications for renewals should be submitted at least 45 days before expiration if you want to ensure having uninterrupted access to your medicine.
Is my information kept private?
Yes. The Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) provides data privacy and security provisions for safeguarding medical information. Our office does not disclose any confidential information unless we are asked to do so by our patient, are complying with the law or a compelled to do so by court order.
Who has access to my information?
Once you are entered into the database, these entities have access:
- Florida Department of Health’s Office of Compassionate Use employees who administrate the database.
- Medical marijuana dispensaries/growers that you purchase your medicine from.
- Local and state law enforcement, only in circumstances where validation of your license to posses medical marijuana is legally necessary. For example, if you’re pulled over.
- You and/or your caregiver/legal representative
Can I see Dr. Damas for other medical conditions?
Unfortunately, at the current time no. But we will work with your primary care physician/specialists if you so desire to ensure there is cooperative effort amongst your healthcare providers. We’d love to be part of your team!
Where can I obtain my medicine?
Once our doctor has certified you, you can only purchase medical marijuana from licensed growers/dispensaries, also known as Medical Marijuana Treatment Centers (MMTC). If you purchase marijuana anywhere else, you are breaking the law and are not protected under Florida’s medical marijuana law. (We recommend you keep it legal)
I've heard marijuana is bad for you. Is that true?
No. Don’t believe the hype. Read up, educate yourself and join the movement!
Who needs to have a Medical Marijuana Use Registry identification card?
All Patients and caregivers are required to have an active Medical Marijuana Use Registry identification card to purchase and be in possession of medical marijuana.
How do I apply for an ID card?
You have two ways to apply for a Medical Marijuana Use Registry identification card – Online and Snail Mail. Click here for instructions. Remember: All applications have a $75 registration fee.
What is the status of my Medical Marijuana Use Registry Card Application?
You can check the status of your application by calling 800-808-9580 or through the Medical Marijuana Use Registry. Use this guide to help you navigate the status icons and their meaning.
How do I renew my ID card?
You need to keep your Medical Marijuana Use Registry identification card active. To do that, you must renew 45-days BEFORE it expires. Use this step-by-step guide.
Can I grow my own marijuana?
You cannot grow your own marijuana — only licensed medical marijuana treatment centers can grow, process and dispense marijuana. It’s good to keep in mind that marijuana is illegal under federal law.
Does Florida allow reciprocity?
Florida does not offer reciprocity. What is reciprocity? The ability to use out-of-state medical marijuana cards. For example, a California Medical Marijuana License WILL NOT be recognized in Florida. If you do not have a Florida Medical Marijuana License and you are in possession of any medical cannabis, you will be breaking the law.
What is the difference between low-THC cannabis and medical marijuana?
Simply put, Low THC Cannabis is a “lower dosage” version of Medical Marijuana. By law, Low THC Cannabis contains less than or equal to 0.8 percent THC and more than 10 percent of cannabidiol (CBD) weight for weight.